Assessment Levels

The IWF assess child sexual abuse imagery according to the levels detailed in the Sentencing Council's Sexual Offences Definitive Guideline.

The section on Indecent Photographs of Children (page 75) outlines the different categories of child sexual abuse imagery:   

Category A

images involving penetrative sexual activity; images involving sexual activity with an animal or sadism

Category B

images involving non-penetrative sexual activity

Category C

other indecent images not falling within categories A or B

These categories for Image Assessment are effective from 1 April 2014 and replace the previous levels 1 – 5 which were contained within the guidance issued in April 2007 by the Sentencing Guidelines Council.

Co-funded by the European Union Safer Internet Thinkuknow INHOPE UK Council for Child Internet Safety Investors In People Child rights Connect Nominet European Financial Coalition